University Council

The Caribbean Maritime University Act provides for a council to manage the affairs and strategic direction of the university.

The Council is made up of 19 elected and appointed members who are drawn from industry, government, other tertiary institutions and CMU leadership.

The CMU Council is chaired by Mrs. Hyacinth Bennett (pictured at right).

Hyacinth Bennett, CMU Council Chairwoman, is a former Government Senator, and the founder of the Hydel Group of Schools which includes the Hydel University College.  She is an educator of distinction and received the Governor General’s Award for outstanding service to education.